Development Of The Preschool Child

In this section you will find developmental checklists for children birth to five years of age. The checklists were developed by the Early Childhood Direction Center. Their contact information is on the first page of the checklist.

These checklists cover the following developmental areas:

  1. Speech - articulation and sound development
  2. Receptive language - understanding language
  3. Expressive language - using words to make sentences
  4. Fine motor skills - writing, cutting, using eating utensils, manipulating objects, etc.
  5. Gross motor skills - running, jumping, skipping, etc.
  6. Social/emotional skills - how well children get along with peers and adults
  7. Sensory processing - the ability of our brains to receive information through our senses (touch, movement, body awareness, smell, taste, vision and hearing) and use this information to respond to the environment so we can feel comfortable and safe.